top of page

Cardboard Bulldozer

So Parker's first birthday is coming up. Well its really still a few months away but i'm an organizer, and a pinner. So I have actually been planning his first birthday since before he was even born. Being the first kids birthday party that I have ever put together, I thought I would go with a fool proof theme- Construction.

Now the back room has been filling up with dump trucks, plates, and decorations for a while so I thought it was time to start working on the photo booth. I decided I wanted to try and make a 3D one where the babies could stand to get their photos. I was pretty happy with the results.

What you need

- 2 large rectangular boxes you can get them from Amazon

- A smaller rectangle box for the tray

- Black 100 mile and hour tape

- Yellow paint

- Access to a printer to print Cat signs and grill

- A Stanley knife (a sharp knife to cut)

- Toilet rolls or the inside roll of gift wrap

- Large card paper from Kmart in Black for the wheels and connector from cab to scoop

Now I didn't really follow any method of madness to make this bulldozer, I tend to just give things a go, learn from my mistakes and redo if necessary. But this truck was first go, hence why I didn't take many pictures. Sorry!

To start off I cut a square out of one of the sides of the large rectangular box. This was the base of the bull dozer, where the children can stand. I kept the flaps of the base and sides. On the sides I angled them down to give them a nicer shape. The top part eventually had a cover as well from the other large rectangular box that was placed ontop.

I then turned the other large rectangular box upside down to make sure the cab would fit. Once I was happy with it, I removed it and made windows on 3 different sides. I attached it to base by taping it. I left one of the flap which attached to the top of the bottom rectangular box.

Once I was happy with the main section of the bull dozer I painted it. I did 2-3 coats over the whole bulldozer. Once that was done I used black tape to tape around the window frames. This also made the top box extra secure to the bottom box.

Now that the main part was done I started focusing on the smaller areas. I cut out the smaller rectangle box (which once was a beer carton) to resemble a scoop. Once I was happy with the shape I painted it both inside and out. and then put black tape down the bottom as an extra feature.

I used the black cardboard to attach the main cab area to the scoop. I attached it with tape, but I considered using a Velcro or glue. The hardest part was adding the tires. I cut 5 holes into each side of the cab. 3 in a line about mid way and 2 either side below. These were strategically places to form the shape of a tracks of the tyre. I filled these holes with the inside of gift wrap which were each 13cm long. The tyre tread was made from black cardboard paper from Kmart. I cut it into 12cm strips and folded a zig zag pattern log enough to reach around the gift wrap holders.

The last thing I did was add the grill and CAT logos, which I had found on google images. I printed them out and put one CAT logo on either side under the window and put the grill at the front.

It took a few hours to make, but I was pretty happy with the results. I think it will get some good use come Parker's Birthday.

About us...

We are Bianca, Ben and Parker

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Our Community 

Supermommy

King of Dads

Babyville

Krafty Kids

bottom of page